

Library Board of Control Quarterly Meeting Minutes Monday, February 3, 2025

The Franklin Parish Library Board of Control met in a regularly scheduled quarterly meeting in the Learning Center. Leslie Young, Board President, called the meeting to order at noon, with Emily Shields, Dr. Bill Marionneaux, Dorothy Brown, John Guice, Linda Lochbrunner, and Kayla P. Shirley present.

After review, Young asked for a motion to accept the December 6, 2024, minutes as presented. A motion to accept the minutes as presented was made by Guice and seconded by Dr. Marionneaux. With no objections and all in favor, December 6, 2024, minutes were approved as presented.

Shirley, Library Director, presented the fourth quarter statistical report and 2024 annual report for board review, noting increases in circulation, library visits, and Wi-Fi usage over that of 2023. Shirley also discussed upcoming events/activities, recently completed inventory of the library collection, and other library news.

Linda Lochbrunner, Business Manager, presented the January through December 2024 financial report, noting that the library is currently in a good financial position. After review and discussion, a motion was made by Brown and seconded by Shields to move \$400,000 into CD accounts with local banking institutions. With no objections, motion carried.

Shirley gave an update regarding the installation of windows and doors at the main branch, reporting that installation is tentatively scheduled to begin February 24.

Young turned the task of Board officer elections to Shirley who promptly called for nominations for Board President for 2025. Shields nominated Young to continue as President. The nomination was seconded by Brown. No other nominations were made. Shirley closed nominations, performed a rollcall vote, and all members voted "yes." Leslie Young is reelected as President for 2025.

Shirley called for nominations for Board Vice President for 2025. Young nominated Shields to continue as Vice President. The nomination was seconded by Dr. Marionneaux. No other

nominations were made. Shirley closed nominations, performed a rollcall vote, and all members voted "yes." Emily Shields is reelected as Vice President for 2025.

Shirley called for nominations for Board Treasurer for 2025. Young nominated Dr. Marionneaux to continue as Treasurer. The nomination was seconded by Brown. No other nominations were made. Shirley closed nominations, performed a rollcall vote, and all members voted "yes." Dr. Bill Marionneaux is reelected as Treasurer for 2025.

Shirley presented the current Library Bylaws to the board for a review. Potential updates and revisions were discussed. Shirley will draft necessary revisions and bring back to the board for final review and approval at the next meeting.

Shirley presented revisions to the current Payroll AUP Policy for board review and consideration. After review and discussion, a motion was made by Dr. Marionneaux, seconded by Brown, to amend the Payroll AUP Policy as presented. With no objections and all in favor, the motion passed.

The Board discussed plans for the 75th Anniversary Celebration. Shirley will keep the board informed as plans continue.

At 1:15 pm, a motion was made by Guice, seconded by Shields to enter into an executive session to discuss litigation regarding *Stephanie Taylor-Foy v. Franklin Parish Library and LWCC, docket No. 24-04599, District 1E, Office of Worker's Compensation, State of Louisiana.* The motion carried with all in favor. The meeting then transitioned into executive session.

At 1:25 pm, a motion was made by Brown, seconded by Shields, to conclude and exit the executive session. The motion carried with all in favor. The board returned to open session, having taken no action.

With no other pending business to discuss, Young asked for a motion to adjourn. The motion to adjourn was made by Dr. Marionneaux and seconded by Shields. With no objections, meeting adjourned.